LifeComp: Competences for life and learning in times of transition

The European Framework for Personal, Social and Learning to Learn Key Competence (LifeComp) and what it could mean for adult education and learning.

This article was first published on EPALE: https://epale.ec.europa.eu/en/blog/lifecomp-competences-life-and-learning-times-transition

We live in a time of transition, which makes demands on us both as individuals and communities. Changes to society caused by migration, the rapid transformation of the world of work due to digitalisation, and the transition to climate-neutral economies are just a few examples. We need more than just new skills and knowledge in certain areas if we are to master and help shape the ensuing challenges. We need wide-ranging competences that equip us to deal with the most diverse circumstances.

Aims of the LifeComp framework

The LifeComp framework wants to do justice to these various challenges. It describes nine key competences, some of which focus more on inner preparedness, while others are more action-oriented. Together, they present a holistic picture of transversal competences for continuing personal and social development. LifeComp is a conceptional framework; it is neither normative nor a qualifications framework. It aims to create a shared language and structure for implementation in various contexts, regardless of age or stage of life. In this way it can provide a foundation for preparing teaching plans and learning activities and be introduced in formal, non-formal, and informal education settings.

Continue reading →

Critical Thinking as a competence for 21st century

In May, I had the pleasure to provide a workshop on “Critical Thinking as a competence for 21st century” for the ErasmusPlus project “TeDiCom – Teaching Digital Competences in Adult Education”.

I started with a comprehensive overview of the topic of critical thinking by embedding it in a larger framework of important competencies for the 21st century.
Next clarifying the term with examples and at the same time explaining what critical thinking is not. Finally, I gave a number of practical tips on how to promote critical thinking skills in everyday educational work with adults.

Here is the recording of my input.

And here you can find my presentation and other really recommendable workshops from the project: https://kultur-life.de/projekte/tedicom/online-training-on-digital-competences .

The “Digital Education Initiative”: Boost or Barrier to Adult Learning?

This article was first published on EPALE in German: https://epale.ec.europa.eu/de/blog/die-initiative-digitale-bildung-schub-oder-schranke-fuer-das-lernen-erwachsener.

On February 22, 2021, the “Initiative Digital Education” was presented. The pandemic has shown that there is still a lot of room for improvement in the design and development of digital education, which is why the initiative wants to give digital education a boost. To this end, a national education platform and a digital education space are to be created as an “open overall architecture for digital learning,” according to Federal Education Minister Anja Karliczek 1.

The national education platform is to create secure access to a digital education space that contains a wide range of learning opportunities 2. Much remained unclear, but the platform and education space are to be combined:

  • include existing and new learning platforms and offerings
  • Provide learners with a single point of access to these offerings and platforms
  • Provide learners with individual learning paths
  • Make educational materials available
  • Store certificates centrally
  • Provide networking opportunities
  • Ensure quality of learning offerings through seals of approval and standardization
  • Regulating data security for all areas of education

Digital education: adult education also addressed

Right at the start, Minister Karliczek spoke of “learning in all phases of education,” and Chancellor Merkel, patron of the initiative, also made it clear “that digital education is not just for schools, not just for universities, but that we also want to address people of all ages.” So adult learning is explicitly addresses, and that’s very gratifying, because it’s not always part of education discussions. But was adult learning thought of, was it meant to be included?

Continue reading →

Lifelong learning – the end of adult education?

This article was first published on EPALE in German: https://epale.ec.europa.eu/de/blog/lebenslanges-lernen-das-ende-der-erwachsenenbildung

The report “Embracing a culture of lifelong learning” by the UNESCO Institute for Lifelong Learning from August 2020 describes a future-oriented perspective for education. Against the backdrop of global challenges such as the climate crisis, technological change and the Covid 19 pandemic, twelve international experts call for a fundamental shift towards a culture of lifelong learning.

Continue reading →
Consent Management Platform by Real Cookie Banner

LifeComp: Kompetenzen für das Leben und Lernen in Zeiten des Wandels

Der Europäische Rahmen für persönliche, soziale und lernbezogene Schlüsselkompetenzen (LifeComp) und was er für die Erwachsenenbildung bedeuten kann.

Dieser Beitrag wurde auf zuerst auf EPALE veröffentlicht: https://epale.ec.europa.eu/de/blog/lifecomp-kompetenzen-fuer-das-leben-und-lernen-zeiten-des-wandels

Wir leben in einer Zeit des Wandels, der uns persönlich und als Gemeinschaften fordert: Veränderungen der Gesellschaft durch Migration, die schnelle Transformation der Arbeitswelt durch Digitalisierung oder der Wandel hin zu klimaneutralen Ökonomien seien hier nur beispielhaft genannt. Um daraus entstehende schwierige Lebenssituationen zu meistern und diese Entwicklungen mitzugestalten brauchen wir mehr als neue Fähigkeiten oder Wissen in einzelnen Lebensbereichen. Wir brauchen übergreifende Kompetenzen, die unterschiedlichsten Zusammenhängen gerecht werden können.

Ziele des LifeComp-Rahmens

Der LifeComp-Rahmen möchte den vielfältigen Herausforderungen Rechnung tragen. Er beschreibt neun Schlüsselkompetenzen: einige fokussieren mehr auf eine innere Bereitschaft, andere sind eher handlungsorientiert. Zusammen ergeben ein ganzheitliches Bild transversaler Kompetenzen zur persönlichen und sozialen Weiterentwicklung. Der LifeComp ist ein konzeptioneller Rahmen; er ist nicht normativ und kein Qualifikationsrahmen. Er soll eine gemeinsame Sprache und Struktur für verschiedene Umsetzungskontexte schaffen und ist unabhängig von Alters- und Lebensphasen zu verstehen. So kann er eine Grundlage für die Erarbeitung von Lehrplänen und Lernaktivitäten sein und Eingang in formale, non-formale und informelle Bildungssettings finden.

→ weiterlesen

Critical Thinking as a competence for 21st century

Im Mai hatte ich die Freude , für das ErasmusPlus Projekt „TeDiCom – Teaching Digital Competences in Adult Education“ einen Workshop zu „Critical Thinking as a competence for 21st century“ durchzuführen.

Ich begann mit einem umfassenden Überblick über das Thema kritisches Denken, indem ich es in einen größeren Rahmen von wichtigen Kompetenzen für das 21.
Jahrhundert einbettete. Anschließend habe ich den Begriff anhand von Beispielen erläutert und gleichzeitig erklärt, was kritisches Denken nicht ist. Schließlich gab ich eine Reihe praktischer Tipps, wie man die Fähigkeit zum kritischen Denken in der täglichen Bildungsarbeit mit Erwachsenen fördern kann.

Hier die Aufzeichnung meines Inputs.

Und hier findet ihr meine Präsentation sowie weitere, wirkllich empfehlenswerte Workshops aus dem Projekt: https://kultur-life.de/projekte/tedicom/online-training-on-digital-competences .

Die „Initiative Digitale Bildung“: Schub oder Schranke für das Lernen Erwachsener

Dieser Beitrag wurde auf zuerst auf EPALE veröffentlicht: https://epale.ec.europa.eu/de/blog/die-initiative-digitale-bildung-schub-oder-schranke-fuer-das-lernen-erwachsener. Dort kann man ihn in ganzer Länge lesen. Hier nur ein kurzer Auszug und inhaltlicher Überblick:

Am 22. Februar 2021 wurde die „Initiative Digitale Bildung“ vorgestellt. Dass bei der Gestaltung und Entwicklung digitaler Bildung noch viel Luft nach oben ist, hat die Pandemie gezeigt und daher möchte die Initiative der digitalen Bildung einen Schub geben. Dafür sollen eine nationale Bildungsplattform und ein digitaler Bildungsraum als „offene Gesamtarchitektur für digitales Lernen“ entstehen, so Bundesbildungsministerin Anja Karliczek.

→ weiterlesen

Kamerapflicht beim Online-Lernen? Sehen und gesehen werden … sind zwei Paar Schuhe.

Eines der Probleme für Lehrende in Live-Online-Lernszenarios ist die Distanz zu den Teilnehmenden. Unmittelbare Reaktionen auf das Lern-Lehrgeschehen sind rar. Der Blickkontakt fehlt, Mimik und Gestik können kaum wahrgenommen werden und mündliche Rückmeldungen sind technikbedingt verzögert. Das kann Trainer*innen verunsichern und eingeschaltete Kameras können hier Abhilfe schaffen. Daher wünschen sich viele Trainer*innen, dass Teilnehmende ihre Webcams dauerhaft einschalten und einige Bildungsträger machen Kameras zur Voraussetzung für die Teilnahme an Online-Seminaren. Doch ist das wirklich sinnvoll? Verursachen permanent eingeschaltete Kameras neue, andere Probleme?

→ weiterlesen
Consent Management Platform von Real Cookie Banner